RunRyder RC
WATCH
 1 page 1541 views POST REPLY
HomeOff Topics › wow, did Justin Johnson just get screwed at the PGA..
08-16-2010 12:25 AM  8 years agoPost 1
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

stupid ruling takes the guy out of a playoff on the 18th hole. Ridiculous.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 01:36 AM  8 years agoPost 2
Doublah

rrKey Veteran

USA

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

Man, that was surely questionable. It looked like the sand was outside the bunker even if there was a bunker there. He did seem to get screwed.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 03:55 PM  8 years agoPost 3
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

Well the PGA fell back on their standard "local rules" explanation, which is their right I guess. But I guarantee, if people hadn't been waddling thru that area for a week straight, there would've been a defined edge on that trap and it would be a non-issue. Too bad for a guy coming up in the ranks. Especially after he melted down in the US Open a few weeks ago. On top of losing the chance to win a major, he lost over 1 million in winnings with that call. That's gotta hurt....

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 04:14 PM  8 years agoPost 4
GREYEAGLE

rrElite Veteran

Flat Land's

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

Baloney
I watched it 3 Times . He fluffed the ball - accident or not - which it was, --- he fluffed it --with the end of his club. He's a Pro - he's not on a Muncipal course.

Good Lesson to learn the hard way.

I used to see it all the time ! Makes my blood boil especially if theirs a little $ per hole being played - then they get all whiney - and start barking when they get caught. Sorry but It's a honorer's game " Or used to Be " Uncommonly Acceptable " Cheating is not golf.

greyeagle

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 04:39 PM  8 years agoPost 5
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

all true. You'd think he'd search out a rules official or to err on the side of caution, that's on him for sure. I thought he handled it quite well. He admitted up front that he grounded his club. He just didn't think it was considered a hazzard, I wouldn't have either. But then again, I'm not playing for a 1.3 million dollar check and a place in golf history (winning a major).
I sat there and wondered to myself...... "What would they have done if it was Tiger in that position ????". Then again, Tiger is smart enough to get a ruling or not ground his club if he was unsure. Just a shame all the way around really. 3 big hitters in a playoff would've been great theatre, though the two remaining were entertaining enough IMO.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 06:20 PM  8 years agoPost 6
Vance

rrVeteran

York ,PA

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

Non golfer here.
What is the significance of grounding your club?
Does it give some kind of unfair advantage?
Thanks
Vince D

PM  EMAIL  HOMEPAGE  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 07:37 PM  8 years agoPost 7
bbaxter

rrApprentice

Central Illinois

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

The rules of golf prohibit grounding your club when in a hazard. A "hazard" includes bunkers (sand traps)and water hazards. They all have defined boundaries, and grounding a club inside the hazard is prohibited. If the boundaries are not clear, then the golfer should get a ruling. In tournaments, a rules official should be nearby...and this is especially true in professional tournaments. Not knowing where you are is really a cardinal sin in professional golf.

PM  EMAIL  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 07:48 PM  8 years agoPost 8
Vance

rrVeteran

York ,PA

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

OK- I understand the rule states that you can't ground your club.
What I want to know is WHY can't you ground your club?
What does grounding your club gain for you that you didn't have/know before you grounded your club?
Thanks
Vince

PM  EMAIL  HOMEPAGE  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-16-2010 09:41 PM  8 years agoPost 9
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

because you CAN gain an advantage. Good golfers can get a feel for how soft or hard the sand or mud is. To a regular guy, doesn't matter. But you could also potentially move sand around to allow you to get a better hit on the ball, so they just disallowed touching your club to the ground at all. Not a bad rule by any means. But there are rules that are just insanely stupid and make no sense. Even guys playing their whole lives still don't know all the rules.
I love the game to death, but it can be a little stuffy at times.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-17-2010 01:42 AM  8 years agoPost 10
Vance

rrVeteran

York ,PA

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

OK- That makes sense.
Thank you for explaining.
Vince D

PM  EMAIL  HOMEPAGE  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-17-2010 03:03 PM  8 years agoPost 11
bbaxter

rrApprentice

Central Illinois

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

Yeah...the rule book is quite thick, but the book with the interpretations of the rules is thicker! ....and it's quite the read, if you're into golf and want to see how the rules get applied. The interpretation book is of those rules that went all the way to the USGA (U.S. Golf Association) for interpretation in specific incidents.

The USGA and the British R & A (Royal and Ancient) Golf society are the two main determiners and arbiters of the Rules of Golf worldwide. Almost every tournament will use one or the other's Rules of Golf...the are so similar as to be indistinquishable.

PM  EMAIL  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 12:12 AM  8 years agoPost 12
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

blanking on his name, but I remember a guy getting DQ'd for signing an incorrect scorecard because a viewer called in and saw a violation. The guy had signed his card before the officials got to him, thus he was DQ'd.
His violation: it was a muddy course and he didn't want to get his pants messed up, as he had to kneel in order to hit his ball which was sitting under a tree. He laid down a towel and kneeled on that. A violation under the rules because he "improved his lie". That's the stupid crap they could get rid of and not affect the integrity of the game.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 12:26 AM  8 years agoPost 13
ScottV

rrApprentice

El Dorado Hills, CA

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

Before the event started the players were in a meeting with the club and officials and this very subject about the bunkers was brought up and discussed. He knew the rules but lost his head after he hit that errant tee shot. He had the game in the bag, but once he missed his tee shot all thought was gone. I feel for the guy, but those are the rules.

So long and thanks for all the fish!
`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.. ><((((º>`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸><((((º>

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 12:57 AM  8 years agoPost 14
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

correct. He should've asked for a ruling or played it safe and not grounded his club. Just a shame after he cratered with a 3 stroke lead at the US Open. If he can bounce back from those two rounds, he's a tough dud mentally. That would ruin most golfers.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 03:34 PM  8 years agoPost 15
bbaxter

rrApprentice

Central Illinois

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

fla heli boy:

blanking on his name, but I remember a guy getting DQ'd for signing an incorrect scorecard because a viewer called in and saw a violation. The guy had signed his card before the officials got to him, thus he was DQ'd.
His violation: it was a muddy course and he didn't want to get his pants messed up, as he had to kneel in order to hit his ball which was sitting under a tree. He laid down a towel and kneeled on that. A violation under the rules because he "improved his lie". That's the stupid crap they could get rid of and not affect the integrity of the game.
It was Craig Stadler. From http://www.asiftimes.com/tag/craig-stadler/

"Golfers may recall years ago that golfer Craig Stadler was penalized strokes for placing a towel under his knees when he had to bend down to make a shot from under a tree. It was ruled that he was ‘building his stance”.

Rule 13 of the Rules of Golf apply:

http://golf.about.com/cs/rulesofgolf/a/rule13.htm

You're not allowed to improve the area of your intended stance. Craig Stadler put down a towel, which was ruled an "improvement".

Yes, the rules get tricky and technicalities count...especially at high-levels of play. Just check out other sports where the rules can be complex. How many sailboat races go by without a protest of rules violations? There's another very complex sport with a lot of technicalities. A search would find other similar cases in a wide variety of sports.

PM  EMAIL  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 05:22 PM  8 years agoPost 16
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

there must've been another one too. I'm a Stadler guy and the story I mentioned didn't involve him. It's one of many odd rules, but heh, rules are rules right ??? In some ways it's part of the appeal of golf. It's the most honest sport there is. I've seen plenty of guys call penalties on themselves and I've done it to myself as well (but I've bent a couple too when there's my buddies money on the line !!! )

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 08:13 PM  8 years agoPost 17
neilg.

rrVeteran

north of borston

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

did he bring it to the official's attention or was it a "meter maide"

In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-18-2010 08:37 PM  8 years agoPost 18
fla heli boy

rrKey Veteran

cape coral, florida

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

not sure, but my guess is someb viewer called in. Happens a lot. The official greeted him as he walked of the 18th. Like he said, it would've been really bad had he made his par putt and actually won, then got it taken away from him. Small concillation I know.

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
08-19-2010 01:46 AM  8 years agoPost 19
neilg.

rrVeteran

north of borston

My Posts: All  Forum  Topic

someone at work called that person a "Meter Maid", so it seems my co-worker was correct.

In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti

PM  EMAIL  GALLERY  Attn:RR  Quote
WATCH
 1 page 1541 views POST REPLY
HomeOff Topics › wow, did Justin Johnson just get screwed at the PGA..
 Print TOPIC  Make Suggestion 

 2  Topic Subscribe

Monday, August 20 - 1:47 pm - Copyright © 2000-2018 RunRyder   EMAILEnable Cookies

Login Here
 New Subscriptions 
 Buddies Online