RunRyder RC Community and Forums
✈️Aircraft
›› 🚁Helicopter
››› e-Electric General Discussion (https://rc.runryder.com/f52p1/)
›››› Mini VBAR with WR BEC wiring question (https://rc.runryder.com/t712068p1/)
Posted by ZS-JAF on 09-25-2012 09:16 PM:
Mini VBAR with WR BEC wiring question
Upgraded my Mini VBAR from CC BEC to WR WRL-HBECHC on my Logo 400SE. The CC had one power wire going to RX-C. The WR comes with two power wires I have one going to RX-C the other not being used. Is there a way to connect the second power wire that I am missing? I see they sell a Y harness, but what would the advantage be of taking 2 power wires and plugging them in to the same port? You loose the redundancy right? I also wondered why the WR is rated for 5AMPs plus and it is alot bigger than the CC which is rated for 10 AMPS max. Is the CC 10 amp rating generous and the WR 5AMPs super conservative? Thanks in advance.I have a 3D heli, I don't understand why it doesn't do 3D.
Posted by Ronald Thomas on 09-26-2012 08:30 PM:
That BEC is good to 5 amps, if you wanted an upgrade, you should have gone with the Super Mini.
Yes a Y-harness is what you want to use but you won't lose redundancy as long as the Y-harness does not come unplugged Team MikadoUSA 480XXTreme, 550SX, 600SX, 700XXTreme, 800XXTreme!!
Posted by D.Magee on 09-29-2012 12:42 AM:
You dont have to plug both power leads into the same y put the y conector in any servo plug on the reciever and put power to one of them and the servo to the other end of the y. then put the other power lead where you powered it before. It just helps to have two wires for high current draw.
Posted by ZS-JAF on 09-29-2012 02:02 AM:
That is something I had not thought of doing thanks. I am just going to use one power lead. I don't think I will have issues since I did not before.I have a 3D heli, I don't understand why it doesn't do 3D.
Posted by Scott1115 on 10-04-2012 03:30 AM:
I plug one into the rx and the other into the vbar. That way, there is redundancy. If for what ever reason, one is lost, it backfeeds to the other.Compass 7HV, Trex 550E
RCRCC
Posted by Volcano on 10-08-2012 07:46 AM:
im not familiar which bec yure using, but they have 2 leads for a reason. One lead cant handle the load, so use a y cable and you can hook a cyclic servo onto the same lead as the bec.
Posted by Ronald Thomas on 10-08-2012 12:24 PM:
I plug one into the rx and the other into the vbar. That way, there is redundancy. If for what ever reason, one is lost, it backfeeds to the other.
Any wire connected between the rx and VBAR will supply voltage to both. It is kinda already built in Team MikadoUSA 480XXTreme, 550SX, 600SX, 700XXTreme, 800XXTreme!!
Posted by Scott1115 on 10-08-2012 01:53 PM:
At laughing still. Following suggestion from Mr. Mel. If you search my history, I asked him how to wire the vbar with the super bec, that wad his response. Yes, I know what you're saying is true, just passing on Mr melee advice.....each receives direct power.Compass 7HV, Trex 550E
RCRCC
Posted by Ronald Thomas on 10-11-2012 07:01 PM:
I understand but it really is a false sense of security. If either the main unit or the rx loses power, you are going in.Team MikadoUSA 480XXTreme, 550SX, 600SX, 700XXTreme, 800XXTreme!!
Thu, Oct 24 - 2:19 am © 2000-2019 RunRyder