RunRyder RC Community and Forums
✈️Aircraft
›› 🚁Helicopter
››› e-Align (https://rc.runryder.com/f94p1/)
›››› Thinking of buying DX6 (https://rc.runryder.com/t227042p1/)
Posted by robl45 on 01-12-2006 11:25 PM:
Thinking of buying DX6
So my transmitter that I was going to use with my new microheli has a nicad pack that seems to be past its usefulness, it dies in about 10 minutes. Add to that that I have to buy a micro receiver to use it and its an old transmitter with only 3 point pitch and throttle. So instead of buying a new battery and receiver, I was thinking I would just get the DX6 this weekend. Does anyone have a compelling reason why I shouldn't do this? Oh, should I use the servos that come with it or the cheap RC expert servos?
Posted by Rob_T on 01-12-2006 11:40 PM:
The DX6 is also 3 point curves, and only has 2 flight modes. The servos with it are the cheap Expert S75s- they seem a bit sloppy for heli use IMO.

I have one and the radio technology is great, but given what you wrote I thought you need to know the above to avoid disappointment.
Posted by heliboy1023 on 01-12-2006 11:40 PM:
I wouldn't suggest it.
It uses a rachet type throttle, and only has 3 curves. If you want a good radio for cheapt get a 7c with no servo's, and a hitec micro reciever. That will be about the same price. And as for the servo's, I think they are a bit underpowered. I believe they have a little more of 10 oz of torque. I personally and using the 65HB's which have 30 oz at .11 speed. Nice servo for $25.

But hey, do what you want, and what you like. Remember, it is your heli, not ours.You know you have to many heli's only when your wallet is empty.
Posted by bulldogs on 01-12-2006 11:51 PM:
Wait they are comen out with a heli model soon!!!!!~TEAM OCHC~
A strong man stands up for himself a STRONGER man will stand up for others.
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-13-2006 12:06 AM:
Bulldogs are you talking about the Spectrum? The heli model for it is already out. I almost got it yesterday but it had a bit of a cheap feel to it. Not to say it does not perform."I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by zrdcorp on 01-13-2006 12:21 AM:
I sincerely advise not to be under the influence of any substance while posting here ..lol..Roger's Law: If it is worth doing it, it is worth exceeding it.
Posted by robl45 on 01-13-2006 12:24 AM:
well my radio is real old, so I can't even do ccpm with it. only 3 point throttle and pitch curves and I had no problem flying my nitro heli with it. Plus I like the fact that it doesn't glitch and no one can use my channel because I will pretty much only be flying this in my backyard.
Posted by jack726 on 01-13-2006 12:26 AM:
You can disable the ratchet. The 3 point curves are fine for micros. The sticks are a little stiff. I love mine. I am going to replace all my micro receivers with Spectrum receivers as soon as they become available separately.

Everyone will eventually go to these units or something using the same technology.

If they had a $1000 dollar version available i would buy it today.

Jack
Posted by kookboy on 01-13-2006 12:28 AM:
i've read many positive field tests with it under heavy wifi areas with no glitching.

I'd ditch the servo's.

I think for the money that setup is great providing it fits your needs.
Posted by heliboy1023 on 01-13-2006 12:41 AM:
Everyone will eventually go to these units or something using the same technology.

If they had a $1000 dollar version available i would buy it today.

Jack
I doubt that people will anytime soon. Their long distance range is no where near fm yet, which really isn't to go if you are flying anything other than micro's or parkflyers. For the money, there are much better choices out there which can also be used for bigger aircraft.You know you have to many heli's only when your wallet is empty.
Posted by bulldogs on 01-13-2006 01:50 AM:
I went to ultimate and they said wait for the new model . Who knows the people who work there cant seem to find the light at the end of there ARSE!!!anyway they have it there for 179.00~TEAM OCHC~
A strong man stands up for himself a STRONGER man will stand up for others.
Posted by robl45 on 01-13-2006 02:00 AM:
where is ultimate, can you order online?
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-13-2006 02:04 AM:
You may be set on getting that but Ultimate also has the Futaba 6exh (not sure on model number) with PCM micro receiver and micro servos for the same price. Its not Spectrum but better features I think.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/radios/futk58.html"I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by robl45 on 01-13-2006 02:25 AM:
yes, but PCM doesn't stop some bozo from operating on my frequency while I'm trying to fly in the backyard.
Posted by bulldogs on 01-13-2006 02:39 AM:
http://www.ultimathobbies.com~TEAM OCHC~
A strong man stands up for himself a STRONGER man will stand up for others.
Posted by drdot on 01-13-2006 03:24 AM:
fwiw..

The DX 6 works fine on micros, the servos are slightly better than HS 55...I'd advise anyone who does not have this radio to RUN out and get one...NO GLItCHING!

If you need more functions, get a used 8103 and a trainer cord....

JOhn.
Posted by spritefiend on 01-13-2006 03:33 AM:
im really interested in getting one too, but i think i may hold out for whatever new may be coming out. the dx6 looks a little cheap and seems kinda limited, but with micros & park fliers i spose you dont need a whole lot more

maybe after some refinement, it truly does sound like something great!! and i DO look forward to this technology and what it has to offer, but im not a beta tester
Posted by BOOGIE on 01-13-2006 04:24 AM:
Whats the advantage of having a 5 point curve over a 3 (IM NEW TO HELIS)
Posted by ShellDude on 01-13-2006 04:27 AM:
I used to think it was for a more finely tuned headspeed and climb/descent rate but now that I'm stuck with a 3 point curve with my DX6 I'm not sure why I ever thought that...
Posted by bulldogs on 01-13-2006 04:28 AM:
ill wait till they come out with just the reciever and remote ...~TEAM OCHC~
A strong man stands up for himself a STRONGER man will stand up for others.
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-13-2006 05:56 AM:
Im sure they are great but my concern is the link. You link the rx and tx each time you turn them on but what happens if that link is lost? Dropped links happen in wireless networks, what makes this less prone to that happening?"I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by ShellDude on 01-13-2006 06:06 AM:
They bind the receiver to the transmitter at the factory, and no, you do not have to rebind every time you turn it on.
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-13-2006 06:34 AM:
Oh I was misinformed then. I was told they had to link up. Two ppl came into the hobby store while I was there and both complained theirs had lost link and would not link back up. Well actually one was tellign the clerk and the other stated it had happened on theirs as well. I didn't hear much past that, so I don't know if they lost link during use or what."I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by Lappster on 01-13-2006 05:21 PM:
my first one had bind problems also, it was a bad receiver. Sounds like there are a few more with the same problems. Otherwise it works great. Unless you are FAI'ish in your flying the 3 point is fine, why else would you want something other than a linear pitch curve anyway? I havent used anything more than 3 points on my 10x since I got it many moons ago. The only thing I may change is the battery, the 600ma doesnt seem to last long.

cheers,,
Troy
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-13-2006 05:43 PM:
Was your binding problem pre-flight or did it happen in flight? If its all good once it binds then I would feel better about getting one.

Also you mentioned the battery. How many flights are we talking here? I like to fly 6 packs so that about an hour of flight."I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by BOOGIE on 01-13-2006 07:04 PM:
does anyone know the advantage of having a 5 point curve over a 3
Posted by hjscm on 01-13-2006 08:35 PM:
ther is no advantage at all. your throtle curve for electric doesn't need to be more then 3 points and pitch curve should be 3 points 0-50-100 that way it is symetrical. i was looking at the radio just felt cheap. but it is and i know some people that fly with it and they love it. no frequency pins at the club. also heard of some rx that were bad but all in all i think it is a great concept
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-13-2006 10:35 PM:
They bind the receiver to the transmitter at the factory, and no, you do not have to rebind every time you turn it on.
It is not bound at the factory. You bind it on first use with the included jumper."I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by Rob_T on 01-13-2006 11:11 PM:
Mine came from the factory bound, and the instruction booklet does say in notes near the top of pages 6 and 9 that this is the case. However, when you add new receivers (shipping soon so I'm told...) you will of course have to bind those.

If you touch the rudder trim at all you should re-bind as this also sets the failsafe positions which will be output when you first power on the receiver, and these intial values may be used to initialize the gyro.
Posted by ShellDude on 01-14-2006 12:51 AM:
I love being told how to do something after I've already done it. My DX6 came bound from the factory. I have not had to mess with the binding stuff at all.

I was not speculating. I was stating fact.
Posted by Chris True on 01-14-2006 01:41 AM:
Roger, no binding needed.

As far as the three points goes, I can't agree with the statement that 5 or 7 totally isn't needed. Not every wants to fly 3D and you can set it up to be a much smoother machine around hover with more than 3 points. Also, the thing is somewhat braindead in that the 3rd point in stunt is locked to 100% or the value of the high point in normal. If you run governor mode you are basically stuck with one speed since you must make PHN = the speed you want for PHS.

It is flyable and the RF performance has been flawless, it could be a LOT better though. An 8103 or 9303 it is not.
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-14-2006 11:34 AM:
_removed question.. figured it out_"I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by mattijs on 01-16-2006 07:56 AM:
wifi networks operate in far more difficult enviroments, they have to penetrate walls etc...The protocol they run also require a much higher sustained bandwith to be linked...

6 channels at say 60hz refresh at 10 bit resolution = a mere 450 bytes per second...add about 3/4 overhead and you come out at about 2KB transfer rate per second !!!!!!!!!

That's about all the Dx6 needs....compare that to the Megabytes per second on wifi networks and you'll see why direct comparison isn't in place
Posted by The_Widowmaker on 01-16-2006 08:08 AM:
I love being told how to do something after I've already done it. My DX6 came bound from the factory. I have not had to mess with the binding stuff at all.

I was not speculating. I was stating fact.
Whooaa Tex... its not that big of a deal. My bad, I see its bound from the factory. Mine came with a binding sheet and according to it you have to bind again to use the smartsafe."I'm a Virgin.. I'm just not very good at it. "
Posted by TheX on 01-16-2006 12:57 PM:
My Spektrum has 5 point curves and great feeling sticks.

Posted by zrdcorp on 01-16-2006 03:46 PM:
That is not a Spektrum, is it?Roger's Law: If it is worth doing it, it is worth exceeding it.
Posted by Chris True on 01-16-2006 04:35 PM:
It is a JR 6102 with the RF deck and antenna from the Spektrum installed inside.
Posted by TheX on 01-16-2006 04:48 PM:
Hilgert over at RCG came up with it. great mod. It means that I had to spend $325.00 for the radio, 4 servos and a receiver but it's well worth it.
Posted by zrdcorp on 01-16-2006 05:28 PM:
Will it be possible to put Spektrum modules in other radios?
hmm.. It should be.

Was it difficult to put the spektrum inside it?

Whre can I find more info on this?Roger's Law: If it is worth doing it, it is worth exceeding it.
Posted by drdot on 01-17-2006 12:59 AM:
fwiw..

Was confirmed at the show by a highly placed source that a higher end version will be coming "soon"...Most vendors sold out of the Spektrums by Sat PM
This is the beginning of the future for RC!


John
Posted by spritefiend on 01-19-2006 02:08 AM:
TheX
difficult mod?

im not considering the spectrum stuff till they come up with a little bit more.. capable radios for my liking. however that JR mod looks better than what theyve got out, and even though i normally wouldnt consider flying JR im interested in that. happen to have the RCG Thread link also??

Thanks.
Posted by ShellDude on 01-19-2006 02:27 AM:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...314#post4804135
Posted by spritefiend on 01-19-2006 02:35 AM:
ShellDude
sexy. thanks!
Posted by ShellDude on 01-19-2006 02:42 AM:
no prob... I'd been following it for a couple weeks... great stuff!
Posted by robl45 on 01-19-2006 02:55 AM:
only thing bad about the dx6 is that it's only 6 channel, wish there was a mod to make it more. I wonder if its possible to connect a nice radio to the dx6 in trainer mode and then mod the receiver or another receiver with more channels to work on the 2.4ghz wavelength.
Wed, Oct 23 - 1:40 pm © 2000-2019 RunRyder