RunRyder RC Community and Forums
Aircraft
›› Helicopter
››› Aerial Photography and Video (https://rc.runryder.com/f25p1/)
›››› Askman vs. Airfoil (https://rc.runryder.com/t370876p1/)
Posted by abwomack on 09-03-2007 11:27 PM:
I am in the market for a mount for my trex 600 and am considering both. but am leaning towards the askman as it eliminates the stock landing gear and appears to be an equal or better product at a better price. I am looking at the underslung mounts with 360 capability. What do you guys think??
Posted by helizombie on 09-03-2007 11:41 PM:
I own the AIRFOIL MINI PRO1 and works great for me . I am also using the trex 600 . Its all personal preference. I can take the mount off and fly whatever I want then
Posted by classic on 09-04-2007 03:00 AM:
I had the same choice to make as you do, and now I am extremly pleased with the quality of the Askman mount I just bought 2 months ago! Service was second to none.

Which is worse, ignorance or apathy? I don't know and I don't care!

Posted by jascamera on 09-04-2007 06:36 AM:
CJames,

You never mention how good are the video quality with this mount?
Posted by classic on 09-04-2007 06:56 AM:
Sorry, I havent done video with it yet. Need a new video camera...
The one I have is kinda big,old an heavy.

Which is worse, ignorance or apathy? I don't know and I don't care!

Posted by wild1957 on 09-04-2007 06:57 AM:
For what its worth I also weighed up these mounts when making my choice and I also went for the Askman but can not comment on the performance as it has not yet arrived, however I was told by many that it performs as good as it looks, will advise further once it gets here.
Posted by rchelinz on 09-04-2007 07:13 AM:
I also have the same question "which mount for the T-rex600" and at the moment swinging towards the askman360.
Which mount, 30 or 50 size are you guys using as both will fit and has anybody got the Procam or HD gimbal with the mount? they look very nice, any comments on these.

Raptor 90G4/ Trex744 Turbine/ Kasama 90N

Posted by kookboy on 09-04-2007 04:36 PM:
On one of my Logo's I use an Askman APLG Procam with the HD mount.

Works great and VERY light for a pan underslung rig and has a nice friction clutch in the pan system with take off lock that prevents servo damage or spin on spoolup.

I tried out an AF MiniPro1 but it was much heavier (almost 1lb more) and $$$ more than Askman's pan mount and I couldn't justify the extra cost and weight.

I'm ordering another for my Raven as well.

... But honey it was only $$$

Posted by abwomack on 09-04-2007 10:56 PM:
I ordered the 50 size and the hd mount to go with it, not sure if it is necessary but figured i would get them both at the same time.
Posted by rchelinz on 09-04-2007 11:58 PM:
does the HD gimbal stabilize 2 axis like the Procam one does, which one would give the most stable video??

Raptor 90G4/ Trex744 Turbine/ Kasama 90N

Posted by abwomack on 09-05-2007 12:47 AM:
honestly i don't know anything about it but figured i would end up wanting it and then have to wait for it to be delivered. I really didn't even see any pic's of it. But I will post pics as soon as i have it.
Posted by Griffo on 09-05-2007 12:54 AM:
I've bought from Askman before and his service and attention to detail is second to none! Seriously I just can't give this guy enough praise after he helped me set up my last chopper.

I'm going to be purchasing Askman's 360 APLG with HD mount in the next couple of weeks and will be using it primarily for Pano's but would also like to use it for video. I'd love to hear people's experiences who use this mount for similar purposes .
Posted by kookboy on 09-05-2007 12:59 AM:
does the HD gimbal stabilize 2 axis like the Procam one does, which one would give the most stable video??
I used both and found the HD gimbal to be better suited for DSLR's and POS with add-on's (Wide lens).

If you only use a small POS, then the Procam gimbal will do just fine with an HS81.

The HD one comes with a beefy servo and nice CF trays.

Procam is 3 shocks and HD is 2 shocks for stab.

... But honey it was only $$$

Posted by lowandslow on 09-05-2007 01:55 AM:
I'm moving over to Askman's mount for my 600.

I have a low hours MiniPro 1 for sale if you're interested.
Posted by abwomack on 09-05-2007 02:54 AM:
great to hear all this positive stuff since i have already ordered. I plan on using nikon d40x with the 50 pan 360 with hd mount? Will post pics as stuff comes in.
Posted by trackhead on 09-05-2007 03:10 AM:
I have an Askman 360 and am very happy with it. I wouldn't want anything heavier on the Trex600.
Posted by BigguyOz on 09-05-2007 04:08 AM:
I am just getting my fourth Askman mount. Andrey is a textbook example of how to look after customers, and his design and fabrication quality cannot be faulted. His crash repair deal is also top rate (ie maximum cost of 20% of retail parts price plus shipping).

Happy customer...

Tony Stott

Posted by Griffo on 09-06-2007 01:15 AM:
Can anyone tell me the weight differnece between the Mini Pro 1 and the Askman 360 with HD mount?
Posted by rchelinz on 09-09-2007 01:13 PM:
Can anyone tell me the weight differnece between the Mini Pro 1 and the Askman 360 with HD mount?

Well I Haven't got either yet but heres some info I've gathered so far, please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Askman360 weight with progimbal and servos, about 2lb 5oz for .30 size and 2lb 11 oz for 50. re gimbal choice pro is lightest setup, while HD will add few ozes.

Airfoilmini, The carrier comes with the servos Airfoil says 2lbs. 13oz’s dry.

Procam is 3 shocks and HD is 2 shocks for stab.

Still confused about which gimbal to get 3 shocks sounds better then 2 for stab. but I suppose it comes down to which camera/video you use.
How much do these new small sony HDV and pany SDI Hi def cameras weigh?

Raptor 90G4/ Trex744 Turbine/ Kasama 90N

Posted by Griffo on 09-10-2007 01:19 AM:
Thanks for the heads up. I wasn't sure how heavy the Airfoil setup was so that clears a few things up. I'd buy the Askman mount based on Andre's friendly service alone, but it is nice to have all the facts anyway.

I'm using Askman's Pro gimbal on my Trex 450 and Logo 20 at the moment. It is ultra light weight and has 3 adjustable shock absorbers in a 120' configuration.

The extra shock asorber on the Pro mount is probably not necessary for video work but it certainly adds to the cool factor. I've found the pro mount best suits stills from a smaller heli due to issues with instability of 450 size mechanics... actually that's probably more to do with my crappy piloting skills. It's covered up a few piloting errors on my behalf and I've probably walked away with 30% - 40% more useable shots (level horizon etc) than I would have had I not used had the shock absorbers in the 120' config.

As for video, I currently use a Panasonic GS-250 which weighs in at around 1.1 lbs. I think it's a bit on the heavy side for my Pro mount but works just fine for the Digital still cams. I'm looking into getting a Sony High Def camcorder, which weighs in at about 1.3lbs hence the upgrade to Askman's HD gimbal .

Hope that helps .
Posted by Top End on 09-13-2007 10:55 AM:
OK were do I find askmans mount
show me please.
One question what size elec., choppers will it OR them handle.
Posted by jascamera on 09-13-2007 12:08 PM:
http://askmanap.com/
Tue, Jun 19 - 11:32 am © 2000-2018 RunRyder