HELP-FAQ Private Messaging
|Private Messaging (PM)|
Private Messaging (PM) is RunRyder’s internal messaging service. PMs can only be
sent to registered RunRyder members. You can include Post Tags, smilies and images
in private messages.
If you ever receive Spam via Private Messaging please report it to
RunRyder by clicking the Report Spam
link located below every private message.
|Send a PM|
You can send a Private Message (PM) in one of three ways:
- Click the PM link at the top of a member’s profile.
- Click the PM link below a member’s post.
- Go to myHOME, Private Messaging, and click the
Create New PM link.
Creating a PM with the Save Copy
option checked (the automatic default), will move a copy of your PM into the Sent folder.
|Upload and Display Photos in a Post or PM|
- Upload photos into
- Review uploaded photos automatically staged in your Clipboard.
- Compose your post or PM message.
- Click Paste Clipboard to insert clipboard photos into post or message.
- Submit message.
- Empty clipboard (does not delete uploads).
When composing post or message, see yellow-blue Upload Photos toolbar on left
side panel of message input screen.
Find links to MyFastPhoto, MY GALLERY and Clipboard.
Staged Clipboard thumbnails can selectively be viewed or removed.
Manually add to Clipboard by clicking below any photo thumbnail.
link (My Fast Photos)
can be found in your My Gallery
and in your profile (click your name).
Add photos to your clipboard from any gallery by clicking below thumbnails.
Photos are NOT stored (only pointers) within your posts or messages.
Deleting gallery photos will break post or message photo display.
By default, there are three folders in your Private Messaging area:
The Inbox folder contains any new messages you receive. Replying to an Inbox PM with
the Save Copy
option checked (the automatic default)
will move a copy of the original Inbox PM and your response into your Sent folder.
The Sent folder contains your complete PM conversation including the
date and time for each part of the conversation. After sending a PM, the original Inbox
PM is removed from your Inbox and placed in your Trash folder. This process
is done to avoid duplicate PMs in your Inbox and Sent folders.
If the replied to PM resides in a folder other than the Inbox, the saved
copy will stay in the same folder as the replied to PM.
PMs located in the Trash folder are automatically deleted thirty days
after residing in the trash folder.
The goal is an empty Inbox and a tidy Sent folder.
You can create additional folders for your messages by clicking the
Manage PM Folders
button at the bottom of your Private Messaging. Each
folder has a set of message controls which allows you to select messages,
then either move them to one of your custom folders or delete them completely.
You have the ability to forward multiple messages from a folder to an
individual or to multiple members.
**RunRyder PMs are automatically deleted three years after they were
created and sent. If you wish to keep something permanently, please
save a copy to your personal computer.
|Missing Inbox PMs and Save Copy|
Replying to a PM in your Inbox with the Save Copy
option checked (the automatic default) will move a copy of the
original Inbox PM and your response to your Sent folder.
The Sent folder contains your complete PM conversation including date and time for
each part of the conversation. Your original Inbox PM is removed from the Inbox
and placed in your Trash folder. This process is done to avoid duplicate PMs in
your Inbox and Sent folders.
Nothing is lost by default. The sent folder is the key focal point of PM work done.
Go there and click the number next to the member name to review or reuse older
PMs associated with that member. You can move any conversations in the Sent
folder to specific folders you create.
Unchecking "Save Copy
" keeps your original pm in
your Inbox. RunRyder does not recommend doing this because you will not have
access to your reply words.
Replying multiple times to sent PMs can be achieved by editing the "Recipient:" field.
**RunRyder PMs are automatically deleted three years after they were created
and sent. If you wish to keep something permanently, please save a copy to
your personal computer.
|PM Your Buddies|
Go to your Private Messaging area and at the bottom of the screen
click the PM Buddies link. Then select which buddies you would like
to receive your PM.
|Number Signifies PM Activity with Member|
The number to the right of a member's name signifies the number of private
messages you have exchanged with that member. Clicking on the number will display
all PM conversations with that member.
RunRyder has created a suggested PM limit. Once you reach the 10,000,000 byte
suggested limit, you will receive a screen warning (similar to below).
The notice will remain at the top of every RunRyder page until you
reduce your PMs below 10,000,000 bytes.
At the bottom of your Private Messaging screen you can see how many bytes
your PMs take up
This useful information can help you stay below the suggested 10mb limit.
When sending a private message, you have the option to request a read-receipt
for that message (select Request Read Receipt
in the Options
section at the bottom of your PM). This allows you to check
whether or not a message has been read by its recipient by viewing the
folders located at the top of your Private Messaging.
message section shows all
messages with a read-receipt request that remain unread by their recipient.
The time of the last activity of the message recipient is also shown
(Last Online 03-09-2007 12:33 PM
Messages in this section can be cancelled if you decide that their contents are
no longer relevant. If you cancel a message the recipient will no longer see
the message, but instead will see:
This message has been cancelled by its sender iluvflyn.
You should delete it from your Inbox
Cancelled messages can also be restored to active status by selecting the
cancelled message and clicking the Restore
You cannot Restore
a message if the recipient
permanently deletes the message.
message section shows all
messages with a receipt request that have been read by their recipient.
The time the message was read is also shown.
To end the tracking on any message, select the message and click the
|Messages Missing from Tracking Lists|
Tracking is stored with the sent PM.
If the recipient permanently deletes the PM, it will automatically be removed from your
Unread and Read tracking folders.
|Cancel a Sent PM|
If you cancel a sent message the recipient will no longer be able to see the message.
Instead the recipient will see: This message
has been cancelled by its sender iluvflyn. You should
delete it from your Inbox
Cancelled messages can be restored to active status by selecting the cancelled message
and clicking the Restore
button. You cannot use
if the recipient has permanently deleted the message.
|PM Display and Usage Errors|
If your browser is displaying incorrect or out of date data, or you received
an email notification that you have a new PM, but the new PM does not display in
your Private Messaging area, you probably have a Cache Display Problem.
First, try a "View Refresh" by pressing Crtl-R or F5. If the error still persists,
try deleting your temporary internet files (cache) and off line content:
How to Clear Your Cache
Your ISP could also cause problems by caching RR’s pages.
Also see Automatic Page Display
to resolve this problem.
Thursday, May 23 - 9:35 am - Copyright © 2000 - 2013 runryder.com | email | runryder needs cookie